IGov Team

The IGov project finished in Dec 2019 and this site is no longer updated.

The IGov Team comprises of Professor Catherine Mitchell (Principal Investigator), Dr Matthew Lockwood, Jess Britton and Antony Froggatt (Research Fellows), Richard Hoggett (Research Manager) and Helen Poulter (PhD). Collectively the team brings together a range of interdisciplinary knowledge on energy, policy, regulation, international energy issues, theories of change and practice; enabling them to deal with the complex and interrelated themes of innovation and governance.

Prof. Catherine Mitchell

Catherine Mitchell is Professor of Energy Policy at the University of Exeter. Previous to that, she worked at the Universities of Warwick, Sussex and California, Berkeley. Her undergraduate degree was in History from London University; her Masters was in Energy and Environmental Studies from Boston University, USA and her PhD was from Sussex University in

Read More »

Dr. Rebecca Willis

Rebecca Willis has twenty years’ experience in environment and sustainability policy and practice, at international, national and local level. She founded Green Alliance’s Climate Leadership Programme, an initiative to support Members of the UK Parliament, and with Lancaster University, she conducted research into political responses to climate change. She...

Read More »

Richard Hoggett

Richard is the research manager for IGov and brings a broad range of expertise to the team from 15 years of working on sustainable energy policy and practice within the UK. His early career was at a community development trust where he set up and ran a range of community scale renewable energy and energy

Read More »

Helen Poulter

Helen is the PhD student associated with the IGov project.  Her thesis will be looking at how distributed energy resources are affecting the utility business model in Australia and how lessons learnt from this could help shape future energy systems. Previously to this Helen studied Renewable Energy at Exeter, although in earlier studies she concentrated

Read More »

Jess Britton

Jess Britton is a Research Fellow on the iGov2 project. Prior to this she completed a South West Doctoral Training Centre funded PhD on the development of heat networks in the UK and Germany. Her thesis examined the role of local government and municipal ownership in heat network development with a focus on the interaction

Read More »

Antony Froggatt

Antony Froggatt has studied energy and environmental policy at the University of Westminster and the Science Policy Research Unit at Sussex University. He is currently an independent consultant on international energy issues and since 2007, a senior research fellow at Chatham House (also known as the Royal Institute for International Affairs).  Since 2014 he has...

Read More »

Dr. Matthew Lockwood

Matthew Lockwood was a Senior Research Fellow on the IGov project until December 2018, he now works at SPRU. During 2015-2017 he also managed a project for the UK Energy Research Centre on the politics of interaction between UK and EU energy policy, including the implications of Brexit. He has worked on energy and climate

Read More »
Scroll to top