

Energy Governance: New ideas, new institutions, new people

6th December 2016: British Academy

6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG

9.00 Registration

9.30 - 9.40 Welcome and introduction to day

• Catherine Mitchell, University of Exeter

9.40 – 10.25 GB Energy Governance – Issues & opportunities

- Session Chair: Simon Roberts, Centre for Sustainable Energy
- Sara Bell, Tempus Energy
- Rebecca Willis, Independent Researcher

10.25 – 11.10 Principles for Energy Governance Change

- Catherine Mitchell plus IGov Team, University of Exeter
- Rapporteur, Tom Burke, E3G

11. 10-11.30 Break

11.30 - 12.30 Parallel Session 1

1.1 GB political stability, transparency, and legitimacy THE MALL ROOM (1st floor)	1.2 Local energy markets WOLFSON ROOM (1st Floor)	1.3 The importance of data THE LEE LIBRARY (ground floor)
 Session Chair: Caroline Kuzemko, University of Warwick Matthew Lockwood, University of Exeter Amy Mount, Green Alliance Natalie Bennett, Green Party 	 Session Chair: Ben Eyre White, BEIS Catherine Mitchell, University of Exeter Rachel Stanley, Energy Local Matt Hastings, Centrica 	 Session Chair: Sarah Darby, University of Oxford Antony Froggatt, Chatham House/ University of Exeter Judith Ward, Sustainability First Paul Westacott, Origami Energy

12.30 - 13.30 Lunch





13.30 - 14.30 Lessons from the Energiewende

- Session Chair: Caroline Kuzemko, University of Warrick
- Barbara Praetorius, Agora Energiewende
- Craig Morris, Petite Planète

14:30 - 15:30 Parallel Session 2

2.1 Creating a people centred energy system WOLFSON ROOM	2.2 System coordination THE MALL ROOM	2.3 How to fund change THE LEE LIBRARY
(1 st Floor)	(1st floor)	(ground floor)
 Session Chair: Simon Roberts, Centre for Sustainable Energy Richard Hoggett, University of Exeter Matthew Rhodes, Encraft Zoe McLeod, Sustainability First 	 Session Chair: Adam Cooper, National Infrastructure Commission Matthew Lockwood, University of Exeter Charlotte Ramsay, National Grid Adriana Laguna-Estopier, UK Power Networks 	 Session Chair: Nicky Dean, Nature Catherine Mitchell, University of Exeter Jan Rosenow, RAP Stephen Hall, University of Leeds

15:30 - 15:45 Break

15:45 – 16:45 The Energy Den

Session Chair: Matthew Lockwood, University of Exeter

The Pitchers:

- Nicola Waters, Primrosesolar
- Alice Owen, University of Leeds
- Tom Snellock, Limejump
- Tiffany Chow, Navigant
- Ralitsa Hiteva, University of Sussex
- Felicity Jones, Everoze

The Dragons!

- Mari Martiskainen, University of Sussex
- Katy Roliech, Leeds University
- Carly McLachlan, Manchester University

16:45 – 17:00 Reflections on GB Energy Governance & IGov 2

Matthew Lockwood, University of Exeter

