Advisory Group

IGov is supported by an expert steering committee which oversees the direction of the research. The group brings together a wide range of expertise and knowledge from across academia, industry and civil society on theories of change and innovation, markets for gas and electricity, supply and distribution, policy, politics and regulation, customers, price and affordability, and environmental issues.

Prof. Tim Foxon (Chair)


I am Professor of Sustainability Transitions at SPRU (Science Policy Research Unit). My research explores technological and social factors relating to the innovation of new energy technologies, the co-evolution of technologies and institutions for a transition to a sustainable low carbon economy, and relations and interdependencies between energy use and economic...

Read More »

Prof. Frank Geels


Frank Geels is Professor of System Innovation and Sustainability at the Sustainable Consumption Institute, at the University of Manchester. Geels is chairman of the international Sustainability Transitions Research Network (, and one of the world-leading scholars on socio-technical transitions, which entail co-evolutionary interactions...

Read More »

Dr. Chris Harris

chris harris

Chris Harris is Head of Retail Regulation at RWE npower.  His current interests include “smart” (meters, grids, institutions, markets), energy efficiency (energy company obligation and green deal) and consumer protection. His background includes consulting (Andersen Consulting and RWE International), trading (MD at Barclays Metals Derivatives), marketing and...

Read More »

Prof. Colin Hay


Colin Hay is Professor of Political Analysis and Co-Director of the Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute at the University of Sheffield.  He is the author, co-author or editor of a number of books, including most recently, The Political Economy of European Welfare Capitalism (Palgrave, 2012), New Directions in Political Science (commissioned by the PSA to...

Read More »

Prof. Staffan Jacobsson


Staffan Jacobsson is Professor in Environmental System Analysis at Chalmers University of Technology. Prof. Jacobsson works with energy policy and science policy. Within the former field, he studies how new energy technologies develop and diffuse and how new industries emerge. Internationally comparative studies are frequently undertaken. In the latter field, he...

Read More »

Dr Keith MacLean


Keith completed graduate and postgraduate studies in Chemistry at both Heriot-Watt and Hamburg Universities, and is now also an Honorary Fellow of Energy Policy at the University of Exeter. Following 8 years at BDF, a chemical company in Germany, Keith returned to Scotland and led a contract research business at IRI before working 20 years

Read More »

Prof. Claudio Radaelli


Claudio Radaelli is Professor of Political Science at the University of Exeter, where he directs the Centre for European Governance, a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence. Prior to Exeter, he was Professor of Public Policy at the University of Bradford and directed the Forum on International Regulatory Competition and Cooperation at the European University Institute,...

Read More »

Simon Roberts OBE


Simon has been helping people and organisations to develop effective responses to the threat of climate change and the misery of cold homes for more than 25 years. Since 2002 he has been Chief Executive of the Centre for Sustainable Energy (CSE), a national charity based in Bristol. He is also non-executive Chair of the

Read More »

Dr Simon Skillings


Dr Simon Skillings is Director of Trilemma UK Ltd. He has worked in the energy industry since 1984. After spending some time in the Research Division of the CEGB, he worked on the privatisation process in 1989. During the 1990’s he worked for Powergen and held a variety of strategic, trading and regulatory roles. Following

Read More »

Chris Welby


Chris Welby is Head of Regulation at Bristol Energy a company owned by Bristol City Council with a mission to be a force for social good by championing social equality, local renewables and stronger communities. Chris is a respected energy industry professional with 30 years’ experience in all aspects of the wholesale and retail market.

Read More »

Graham White CBE

graham white

Graham is an energy policy and strategy advisor, who advises governments, international organisations and public companies.  He is particularly experienced in leading reviews of domestic and international energy issues and policies, advising on energy strategies, in drawing together and managing relevant expertise and building consensus on a way forward. He has 20...

Read More »

Mike Kay

Mike Kay

Mike Kay joined Norweb (Electricity North West’s forerunner) as a student apprentice in 1978.  Since then he has worked in most aspects of electrical engineering within the company ranging from policy roles, the detailed design of 132kV systems and equipment, and managing a regional direct labour force and the regulatory interface.  He is currently the

Read More »

Dr Jeff Hardy

Jeff Hardy

Dr Jeff Hardy is Senior Manager, Sustainable Development at Ofgem. Previously he has worked as the Knowledge Exchange Manager at the UK Energy Research Centre, the Environment and Energy Policy Manager at the Royal Society of Chemistry, a Green Chemistry academic and a research chemist in a nuclear laboratory. To find out more about sustainability

Read More »

Dorcas Batstone


Dorcas Batstone has over twenty years’ experience in the GB electricity market.  She has held senior management positions within Ofgem (and its predecessor, OFFER) and within ELEXON the GB market administrator.  Her roles involved engagement with senior stakeholders in industry representative bodies, electricity licensees, consumer organisations and government...

Read More »

Judith Ward


Judith Ward is an Honorary University Fellow in the College of Life and Environmental Sciences at the University of Exeter. She is energy policy professional with long-standing practical experience of both the utility and consumer worlds. Judith is part-time Director of Sustainability First, a small charitable environment think-tank. She  presently leads the major...

Read More »

Prof. Matthew Flinders

Professor Matthew Flinders

Matthew Flinders is Professor of Politics and Founding Director of the Sir Bernard Crick Centre for the Public Understanding of Politics at the University of Sheffield, United Kingdom. He is the co-author of the international journal Policy & Politics as is Visiting Distinguished Professor in the Sir Walter Murdoch School of Public Policy and International...

Read More »

Rebecca Willis


Rebecca Willis is an independent researcher. Her work focuses on environmental politics and policymaking at both a national and local level. Rebecca convenes Green Alliance’s Climate Leadership Programme for MPs, and advises the Lake District National Park on climate change. In May 2011 she was appointed as a Council Member of the Natural Environment Research...

Read More »
Scroll to top